Keynote Speaker
1. Zhou Qing

Qing ZHOU is a chair professor of vehicle safety at Department of Automotive Engineering, Tsinghua University. Prof. Zhou also serves as the Director of Vehicle Safety Committee of the Chinese Society of Automotive Engineers, Associate Editor of the International Journal of Impact Engineering, and Council Member of International Research Council on Biomechanics of Injury (IRCOBI). Dr. Zhou received bachelor degree in mechanics from Peking University in 1985 and Ph.D. degree in applied mechanics from Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1994. Prior to joining Tsinghua University in 2003, as a researcher, Dr. Zhou worked at the Volpe National Transportation Systems Center of the US Department of Transportation from 1999 to 2003, and at the R&D Center of General Motors from 1994 to 1999. Dr. Zhou’s research areas include vehicle crash safety, human body impact protection, large deformation failures of lightweight materials and structures under impact loading, and crash safety of batteries.

2. Li Shuhui

Prof. Li’s research interests focus on advanced sheet metal forming technology. Prof. Li has been the principal investigator for more than twenty projects including the National Natural Science Foundation of China, 973 project and 863 plan. Now she is the vice director of state key laboratory of mechanical system and vibration and Adjunct Professor of BaoSteel Talent Development Institute. Her team has in-depth cooperation with Baosteel Company in the field of Automotive Sheet Application Technology. She has published two monographs and 53 SCI papers. Her work in precise forming technology has won her the second prize of Chinese National Science and Technology Progress Awards twice. She was awarded from the National Natural Science Funds for Excellent Young Scholars.

3. Dilip Bhalsod

Dilip Bhalsod is the LSTC Business Manager responsible for America and Europe distributor management, sales, marketing, vendor and alliance partners. From 2004 to 2016, he was Technical Manager at LSTC’s office in Michigan where he was responsible for LS-DYNA technical support and customer training.He has worked with all major car manufactories throughout the world including GM Opel, Ford USA, Chrysler, Toyota, Honda, Jaguar Automotive industry that use LS-DYNA.From 1984 to 2004, Dilip worked at General Motors USA for 20 years on various aspects of automotive crash analysis and provided LS-DYNA technical support.He started his career in the automotive industry at British Leyland, UK in 1978. Dilip holds a Bachelor of Science in Automotive Engineering from Hertfordshire University, UK.

4. Isheng Yeh 

Dr. Isheng Yeh received his PhD. on Theoretical and Applied Mechanics from Northwestern University in 1992. Before joining LSTC in 2007 as a developer, he was a project engineer with General Motors, 1994~2000, and a technical specialist with Ford Motors, 2000~2007. In LSTC, Dr. Yeh works on the development of contact algorithm, isogeometric analysis, control volume airbag, seat belt, sensor, piezoelectric material and new element formulation. Beside, he also develops the Abaqus and Radioss translator for ls-prepost. Also, he was involved in axisymmetric SPH development.

5. Jason Wang

Dr. Jason Wang, LSTC Senior Software Engineer. Jason received his Ph.D. degree from UC Berkeley in 1988 and has joined LSTC since 1997. He is responsible for enabling LS-DYNA explicit MPP (Massive Parallel Processing) solver.  His research and development are focused on developing Contact and FSI (fluid-structure interaction) algorithms, and ALE, SPH, CPM, PBM  and DEM solvers. These capabilities are tightly integrated not only to be used in coupled multiphysics analysis but also executed efficiently on distributed computers. In view of the increases in complexity and size of engineering models in recent years, he also devotes his efforts to developing LS-DYNA HYBRID technology to improve scalability for growing demand on computing power. He is a member of SAE international and obtained Vincent Bendix Automotive Electronics Engineering Award in 2012.

6. Xinhai Zhu

Dr. Zhu received his doctor degree from Michigan Technological University in 1998, majoring in Mechanical Engineering & Engineering Mechanics.  He joined LSTC in 1998 and is currently a Senior Scientist, and he is in charge of the research and development work related to sheet metal forming analysis. He focused his research efforts on sheet metal formability and springback predictions, with an emphasis on light-weight materials, such as ultra-high strength steel and aluminum alloys.  His main contributions can be found in the following areas: springback prediction, material modeling, implicit method in stamping simulation, springback compensation, smooth contact, one-step method, trimming curve development and blank size development, and material failure predictions. Many of the new technologies he proposed have been quickly accepted in industrial applications, and have played an important role in reducing die re-cut.  In addition, Dr. Zhu has been closely working with industrial counterparts to participate in many research projects, most of which are funded by DOE, Auto Steel/Partnership.

7. C.T. Wu

Dr. Wu joined LSTC in 2001 and is currently a Senior Scientist leading a research group in computational and multiscale mechanics development. Their research group has developed several advanced FEM and meshfree methods including the adaptive EFG/FEM, XFEM, SPG, MEFEM and Peridynamics methods for manufacturing and material failure analyses. Their recent research focuses on numerous jointing and fracture simulations in metals, concretes and composites for automotive and aerospace applications. Dr. Wu received his doctoral degree from the University of Iowa in 1999. He is a member of the editorial board in several international journals and has published over fifty peer-reviewed journal articles.He serves on the Meshfree Committee to the U.S. Association for Computational Mechanics (USACM) since 2009. He is also the committee member for the International Workshop on Meshfree Method for Partial Differential Equations from 2016. Dr. Wu is a member of USACM and IACM (International Association for Computational Mechanics) since 1999

8. Yun Huang

Dr. Yun Huang graduated from the department of Civil Engineering, University of Minnesota in 2006. He joined LSTC as a senior scientist / software developer in 2006, and has been working on the Research and code development of frequency domain analysis functionalities in LS-DYNA since then. He has developed a series of frequency domain features in LS-DYNA such as FRF, SSD, random vibration, response spectrum analysis, acoustic analysis based on FEM and BEM and fatigue analysis. These features can find important application in many industry fields, including NVH of vehicles; noise simulation of engines; numerical simulation of shaker table testing; durability analysis of metal structures; acoustic property analysis of sports equipment and seismic analysis of civil and hydraulic structures and nuclear powerplants.

9. Wenhui Yu

Graduated from Dalian University of Technology with a master degree of engineering mechanics in 2006, major in Finite Element Mesh Generation and Optimization. Being a visiting scholar in Earth Science Computation Center of University of Queensland in Australia from 2006 to 2008, main task is Tetrahedron Mesh Generation for Arbitrary Boundary. Since 2008, he’s been working at LSTC office in Dalian as a Technical Manager, his team mainly focus on the development, maintenance and support of LS-PrePost.